DIY coconut lime-poppyseed sugar scrub

 IMG_6369

Happy Tuesday everyone!
Today I’ve got something fun to share with you that’s a little different from my usual recipes…
If you know me well, you know that I have a passion for DIY’s, anything hands on, and all things crafty. I thoroughly enjoy making things with my own hands as an alternative to store bought products. Well I’ve recently been seeing something that has really caught my attention: DIY sugar scrubs!

IMG_6376

IMG_6366

I love using natural, homemade products like these to add shine to my hair and glow to my skin without having to worry about all the chemicals that are found in most store bought supplies soaking into my skin. That’s why I love these DIY sugar scrubs!! They’re so simple, all natural and the variety of scents and “flavors” you can use are limitless.  As a bonus, they’re also quite inexpensive since most of the ingredients are things you’ll find laying around the house everyday.

IMG_6372

IMG_6373
And in all the wide sphere of DIYs, the oodles of homemade natural beauty products have to be about my favorites. My sister and I have a great time trying out new ones together. We love experimenting with banana, molasses, avocado, clay or honey face masks, aloe vera hair thickening treatments, and warm coconut milk wraps. Once we even drenched our locks with raw egg after reading about it’s strengthening effect on hair (btw, we’re never doing that one ever again! The raw eggs were beyond disgusting, although I have to admit that our hair felt very nice afterwards)… we’ve done so many things that I’ve lost count… Its so fun to have a sister who’s always eager to dive into these new, sometimes strange treatments with me! ;)

IMG_6374
I meant to give sugar scrubs a try months ago, but it got set on the back burner and they never got made since I was trying out a large variety of other DIY beauty products. So finally yesterday I got to make my first one ever! It was extremely simple to make and I was thoroughly pleased with the results! The rough sugar crystals are an excellent exfoliater, while gently giving a health glow to your skin, and you wouldn’t believe how silky smooth the coconut oil leaves your skin! I’ve used coconut oil on my skin, nails and hair for years, as I just love the softness and shine it adds to my hair, and the moisture and softness it gives my skin. It’s a great, natural moisturizer, so adding it to this scrub makes it wonderfully silky and leaves your skin delightfully soft and smooth; not to mention the delicious, tropical coconut scent, and the sweet, freshness of lime zest.

IMG_6367

One thing I love about these is that they make such cute gifts. The sugar crystals in a little jar are really very pretty. Just add a matching bow and a note and it’ll be sure to brighten the day for someone special.

………………..
Ingredients:
1 c sugar
2 1/2 Tbsp coconut oil
1 tsp poppy seeds
2 tsp lime juice
1 tsp lime zest (optional)

Directions:
Mix all ingredients together and store it a jar in the fridge until ready to use.  Take a tablespoons sized scoop of the cold scrub and rub gently all over in a circular motion. Enjoy your soft, smooth, glowing skin!
………………….